Tutorial Plans–Dark GDK

Having played around a fair bit with Unity3D and enjoying it for Abeyance (though I’ve not been doing anything for the past month or so for various reasons) I’ve gotten quite familiar with how C# works and I love it. One of the things I promised when I ran for Forum President at The Game Creators (makers of Dark Basic, DarkGDK, FPS Creator and AGK) was to get more tutorials out there, now that I’ve been elected President, I kind of have to follow through with my promises…I know, a politician who actually does what he say’s he’s gonna do when in office! Dark GDK 2.0 is on the horizon, which will be supported (as 1.0 and .NET aren’t anymore) and it’s looking pretty nifty and is built to be able to run in a variety of programming languages and not just through C++ (or through C#/VB on the .NET wrapper). Release Candidate 5 promises to work in C# and I am eager to test it out, particularly as I don’t have much C++ knowledge. With DarkGDK.NET there wasn’t a lot of material out there for people to get started, it had good people in its community and people were capable of getting good projects out there, but I think it’s one of those products that fell under the radar a bit, particularly as Dark GDK was later released for free and .NET wasn’t. It’s a shame, because I like to think of C# as a great stepping stone into learning an OOP based language, getting people familiarised with an industry standard language and could be attractive to people who have played around with Dark Basic Pro, but want to take it to the next level.

So, when I get a hold of Dark GDK 2.0 RC 5 (and later, the full version), I am going to be working on a tutorial series to help beginners get started and work my way up the tree. The tutorial will involve some media creation too, though I would suggest people try out some of my 3D tutorials as well.

I was thinking for my first set of tutorials of making a basic adventure game, it’ll use 2D sprites, but it’ll create an effective 3D effect, I hope. It’ll be an easy start to game design in Dark GDK. What you’ll be looking at in terms of art style is an old project I started in The Games Factory 2.

image

So I’ve got a 3D rendered background with 3D sprites in the foreground. It’s a fairly easy effect to achieve. It’s what was used in old games like Star Ocean 2, which the above project was inspired by. Except, it’s not going to be an RPG, but a classic adventure game. What I may do is start working up a prototype in DBP.

Here is another effect that will be achieved:

image

The trees are actually pre rendered in my 3D app, cut out in Paint.NET and saved as a .png and the shadow effect is fairly simple too. This allows us to create the layered effect, which can apply in a scene like this too:

image

6 comments

  1. I am thinking of moving from Darkbasaic Pro to GDK 2.0 when it arrives and I need all the help I can get, I tried GDK 1.0 with vs c++ and made some progress but failed to link all of my dbp plugins. Will your tuts be compatible with vs 2008 c# express editions ?

  2. Hey,

    I struggled back when it was GDK 1.0 and didn’t really bother with it either and DGDK.NET seemed to lack any real support. It’s nice to see GDK 2.0 on the horizon (it’s looking about 2/3 months away). I am using Visual Studio 2010 Express, but if the set up in the RC in VC++ is anything to go by it’ll be easy to set up.The method used between VC++ 2008 and 2010 is pretty much the same and hopefully they will provide info on setting it up in VC# like they have done with VC++ 2008 & 2010. If not, I’ll see if I can get a hold of a 2008 version and see if I can work it out. The rest will be based on code, so it should work on both. If all goes according to plan, I will do 2 tutorial series, a 2D adventure game (above) and a 3D boat racing game. The boat racing game already exists in DBP, so it’ll be a case of me translating the code.

    Cheers.

    • Thanks for your quick reply,
      I think it would be easier to move to vs 2010 express it is
      the initial setting up that puts me off, like most of us newbees once everything is linked and working we can progress with learning the language and dig deeper later on, I look forward to your tutorials – thanks again, Paul

      • No worries, yes that has always been my main put off. Sometimes they’re not very well explained, which makes it not very accessible for anybody who’s new to C++ or C#. It’s probably why I ended up sticking to DBP for so long. Of course, some people argue you should learn C++ or C# first but something like Dark GDK should really work as a nice stepping stone for anybody who does not want to sit in front of the PC with a massive text book for a few hours. Especially if you’re coming from DBP, you know most of the commands already and understand many programming concepts already, it becomes a matter of translating them and getting your head around different concepts rather than learning something completely new. 🙂 Unity3D was nice in that respect and worked as a nice stepping stone into C# for me, I’m by no means a guru but I try my best.

        Cheers.

      • My thoughts exactly, I`ve managed to `decipher` the LibNoisec++ libraries and export them
        to darkBasic Pro for building procedural terrain, planets etc all without understanding oop concepts, but every now and then I go back to dbp to remind me it`s all about enjoying
        what I`m doing, gdk/c++(c#) is a good compromise for me the best of both worlds; I can replace db code with c++(c#) code to speed things up as I learn more, with a lot of help from guys like you who take the trouble to share there ideas. Maybe one day I`ll do something original ?

      • That sounds cool. Hopefully what I end up doing will be simple enough to understand for beginners and encourage more folk into trying to move into C#. It’s a really nice language to work with and has a lot of bonuses that DBP doesn’t have. 🙂


Leave a Reply

